Beauty is Simple, Beauty is You

‚ÄčBeauty is simple, beauty is you

    Beauty is the milky smile slaying

    Between your heavenly red lips

    Treating my ears to rhythms of wisdom

    Every time they part for audible whispers

    Of images of the future to come, or

    Even when they hold mine. 

    Beauty is you

    Beauty is your svelte fingers cradling my ears

    On return from a tickling run through my hair

    To lay on my chest in one slick movement

    That confirms me both priest and habitue

    Of your Chapel of graceful endearment

    Receiving love dispensed without measure. 

    Beauty is your sweet soul

    Treating me to elevated reason at night

    Sparring with figures: bonds, treasury bills, 

    Regulatory code and the intrigue of Ponzis

    In weighted words of awe and compassion 

    That tickle my senses enough to want more

    For you, for me and our smart kids to come. 

    The world maybe has many words for beauty

    Brandished as stressed catwalk at pageantry

    But everytime I behold your graceful walk

    I am reminded that beauty is simple

    Beauty is you holding my hands to your waist

    Urging me to sleep and live a little

    Jut before my mind hurries to its next labour.

    (c) Tobi Adebowale, 2017.

    Leave a Reply

    